Mourinho equals Ferguson’s League Cup record

Jose Mourinho has now won the League Cup four times, the same number with former Manchester United boss, Sir Alex Ferguson and Brian Clough.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic was once again Manchester United’s saviour, scoring the winner as they defeated Southampton 3-2 in the EFL Cup final.

Claude Puel’s team started the better side and had a legitimate goal ruled out for offside.

Mourinho’s men then raced into a two-goal lead, thanks to strikes from Ibrahimovic and Jesse Lingard.

Manolo Gabbiadini scored either side of the interval to level the game, as Southampton continued to impress against United.

However, it was Ibrahimovic was headed home Ander Herrera’s precise cross, to ensure the Red Devils won the first trophy up for grabs this season.

It is United’s fifth League Cup trophy and Mourinho’s fourth.

The Portuguese won it with Chelsea in 2005, 2007 and 2015.



Find us on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter @Wazobiamax

Find us on Instagram / Facebook / Twitter @Wazobiamax.

Mourinho equals Ferguson’s League Cup record

| News | 0 Comments
About The Author
- A strong will headed individual with an enthusiastic drive to move with strong passion in giving his the best...A graduate of Mass Communication

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>